Comparisons

Comparisontheir pages read 22 Sep 2026

ChatGPT for Slack vs attest_tag

The ChatGPT app for Slack brings ChatGPT into a Slack sidebar, and ChatGPT’s workspace agents ask before a write by default, so the difference is everything its pages leave off: the model named and its cost printed under every reply, approvers who are never the asker, a stated home for the shared connection’s tokens and who may see them, an audit log in the free plan, and an MIT binary you can run yourself.

Which model answers

Any endpoint, per thread

What a turn costs, and who sees it

Model and cost under every reply

Where it runs

Hosted, or one binary of yours

Who holds the credentials

The proxy. Never the model

Who may approve

Never your own request

What you can audit

Every call, exportable

Pick attest_tag when

  • Google Workspace — Gmail, Calendar, Drive, contacts — runs on each person’s own account, never a shared credential, and mail is drafted, never sent for you; every other credential is given to the service, never the model, and injected by an in-process proxy one hop before the request leaves.
  • Any method other than GET, HEAD or OPTIONS is held: the bot posts what it intends to do with Confirm, Cancel and “Something else…”, the pending write expires after five minutes, and admins pre-approve expected writes with plain-sentence allow rules, checked strictly.
  • Budgets that stop rather than report: a monthly budget for the workspace, another per channel, and a per-user hourly rate limit — the bot pauses at the ceiling and says so.
  • Before reading a non-public conversation the bot checks the asker’s own membership; tool output is wrapped as data and never treated as instructions, and web fetches refuse private, loopback and link-local hosts.
  • A free plan that does not expire, then a flat monthly fee by plan size rather than per seat — up to 10 users for $49, up to 250 for $599 — with every feature in the free plan and the open-source binary, so what a paid plan adds is scale and paperwork.
The ten questions, side by side

Their page, ours

What the hero says, and what the rest of the site does not.

A hero line is a promise about the product. The questions an engineer asks before rolling one out are usually answered somewhere else on the site — or not answered. These are the ones we looked for.

ChatGPT for Slacktheir hero, verbatim

“The ChatGPT app for Slack brings the power of ChatGPT into Slack.”

OpenAI’s app for chatting one-on-one with ChatGPT in a dedicated Slack sidebar — summarising threads, drafting replies, searching Slack — with a companion ChatGPT Agents app for channels.

What their pages do not say

  • The model that answers in the Slack sidebar — the listing says only “OpenAI”
  • What a reply cost, shown in Slack
  • Where the shared connection’s tokens live, and who can view them
  • Who may approve a write action, and whether the requester may
  • A self-hosted option, a licence, or any source to read
  • An audit log for Business, Plus or Pro — reviewing app activity through the Compliance Platform is listed only under Enterprise and Edu

On the public pages listed under the table, as of 22 Sep 2026. An absence is a fact about a page, not about the product; if one of these has since been answered, we will change it.

attest_tagthe same questions, in writing

Side by side

Ten questions worth asking either way.

Our column is the same on every comparison, and each cell ends where the mechanism is shown. Theirs is ChatGPT for Slack’s own pages, quoted or closely paraphrased, as read 22 Sep 2026.

01Which model answers

attest_tag

Any OpenAI-compatible endpoint — OpenRouter, a vendor API, or a model you host. Ships on google/gemini-flash, with a heavy model routed to automatically for code and long threads, and a per-thread override.
Models and cost

ChatGPT for Slack

For the Slack app, “Deep research, agent mode, and model switching are not available”; the Marketplace listing says only “LLM model(s) used OpenAI”. For workspace agents (Business, Enterprise, Edu), the rate card lists GPT-5.6 and the builder can “choose its model and reasoning effort”.
02What a turn costs, and who sees it

attest_tag

Metered per completion and printed under the reply beside the model that answered, with !usage for the month by channel. A monthly budget for the workspace, another per channel, and a per-user hourly rate limit — the bot pauses at the ceiling rather than reporting having crossed it.
Audit and budgets

ChatGPT for Slack

A credit rate card for Business and Enterprise/Edu: “A typical end-to-end Workspace Agent run using GPT-5.6 may consume between 5 and 25 credits.” Their page says usage is monitored “in Codex settings under Usage”; a cost shown in Slack or under a reply is not stated on their site.
03Where it runs

attest_tag

Hosted by us, or one MIT-licensed Go binary with the console embedded on your own infrastructure — Docker, Cloud Run, Fargate, Container Apps or Kubernetes. The same code either way. Where HIPAA applies, run it yourself so nothing leaves your network, and we sign a business associate agreement with you.
Self-hosted

ChatGPT for Slack

Not stated on their site.
04Who holds the credentials

attest_tag

The service, never the model. Sealed with AES-256-GCM at rest — under a key you hold, on a self-host — injected by a proxy at the network edge, and scrubbed back out of every response before it reaches the model or the thread.
Credentials, in the guardrails

ChatGPT for Slack

Workspace agents in Slack must use shared authentication: “the agent uses a shared connection, so people running the agent do not need to authenticate during the run.” Where the tokens are stored, and who can view them, is not stated on their site.
05Before it changes something

attest_tag

Any method other than GET, HEAD or OPTIONS is held for a card in the thread — Confirm, Cancel, or say what you actually wanted. Pending writes expire after five minutes. A fix job opens a draft pull request and never merges.
Human-in-the-loop writes

ChatGPT for Slack

Workspace agents: “By default, write actions for apps and connectors are set to Always ask during an agent run.” Builders may set write actions to Never ask, or a custom approval for specific ones. A confirm step for the sidebar chat app is not stated on their site.
06Who may approve

attest_tag

Writes that grant access leave the thread and go to an approver’s DM. Nobody approves their own request — enforced three times over, once in SQL — and a request routes to the least powerful tier that covers every call in it.
Access requests and tiers

ChatGPT for Slack

“Always ask during an agent run” for workspace agents’ write actions. Who may approve, and whether a person may approve their own request, is not stated on their site.
07What you can audit

attest_tag

Every turn, tool call, proxied request and completion — with tokens and cost — in a console you run, exportable as CSV. Self-hosted, it is a table in your own database.
The audit trail

ChatGPT for Slack

“Eligible Enterprise and Edu administrators can review supported conversations and app activity through the Compliance Platform when available.” Workspace agents have an Agent Analytics page with unique users and run counts. An audit log for Business, Plus or Pro is not stated on their site.
08Source and licence

attest_tag

MIT. The repository is the product: the hosted service runs the same binary you can clone, read and build.
The same binary, inside your network

ChatGPT for Slack

Not stated on their site.
09What it costs

attest_tag

A free plan that does not expire — $5 of model spend a month — then a flat monthly fee by plan size, $49 for up to 10 users to $599 for up to 250 users, with AI credit included. Never per seat, and every feature in every plan.
Pricing

ChatGPT for Slack

Per user per month: Plus $20, Pro from $100; Business Standard $20 billed annually or $25 monthly, Premium $100 or $125, for teams of 2–200; Enterprise custom. The Slack app needs a Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise or Edu account and a paid Slack plan.
10Where it lives

attest_tag

Slack and Microsoft Teams, from one console: channels, threads and DMs in Slack; channel reply chains, group chats and one-to-one chats in Teams. It joins the channels you invite it to, and there is no second place for the team to go.
Threads and streaming

ChatGPT for Slack

Slack: “After Slack is connected in ChatGPT, you can start using ChatGPT within Slack in a dedicated sidebar.” Chats also appear in the ChatGPT sidebar on web or mobile; one Slack workspace at a time. The ChatGPT Agents app replies in public and private channels.

“Not stated on their site.” means we read the pages below on 22 Sep 2026 and did not find it — not that the product lacks it. Ask them; a vendor that answers all ten in writing is a good sign about the vendor. If we have something wrong, tell us and we will fix the page.

Pages read: Using ChatGPT in Slack (help centre)OpenAI’s ChatGPT listing on the Slack MarketplaceOpenAI’s ChatGPT Agents listing on the Slack MarketplaceChatGPT Agents app in Slack (help centre)Deploy ChatGPT workspace agents to Slack, admin setup (help centre)ChatGPT workspace agents for Enterprise and Business (help centre)ChatGPT rate card, Business and Enterprise/Edu (help centre)Pricing

Questions

What people ask about ChatGPT for Slack and attest_tag.

Is attest_tag an open-source alternative to ChatGPT for Slack?
attest_tag is open source under the MIT licence: one Go binary with the admin console embedded, one database, the same code the hosted service runs, public on GitHub. The ChatGPT app for Slack’s pages do not state whether source is available; the Marketplace listing’s terms-of-service link goes to OpenAI’s general terms of use, and no page read names a licence. Both live in Slack; ChatGPT’s chats also appear in its web and mobile sidebar, and attest_tag also answers in Microsoft Teams.
Can I run attest_tag on my own servers?
Yes, at no fee and with no limits set by us: Docker on a laptop or VM, Google Cloud Run, AWS Fargate, Azure Container Apps, or Kubernetes with Helm, with the MASTER_KEY that seals credentials held by you and the audit log a table in your own database. OpenAI’s pages do not state a self-hosted or on-premises option; Enterprise lists data residency in ten regions and Enterprise Key Management.
Which model does each run on?
For the Slack app, the help centre says “Deep research, agent mode, and model switching are not available”, and the Marketplace listing names only “OpenAI”; for workspace agents the rate card lists GPT-5.6 and the builder chooses the model and reasoning effort. attest_tag talks to any OpenAI-compatible endpoint, ships on google/gemini-flash, sets the model per workspace, channel and thread with !model, and routes to a heavier model for code, long threads and turns that have made eight tool calls.
What does a turn cost, and who sees it?
In attest_tag every completion’s tokens and cost are measured and printed under the reply; !usage shows the month’s spend by channel against the budget. A typical question costs about $0.002, a fix job about $0.18. OpenAI publishes a credit rate card for Business and Enterprise/Edu — “a typical end-to-end Workspace Agent run using GPT-5.6 may consume between 5 and 25 credits” — and a cost shown in Slack under a reply is not stated on their pages.
Does ChatGPT for Slack hold a write for a human before it runs?
For workspace agents on Business, Enterprise and Edu, yes by default: “write actions for apps and connectors are set to Always ask during an agent run”, though a builder may set them to Never ask or to a custom approval. For the sidebar app a confirm step is not stated. In attest_tag any method other than GET, HEAD or OPTIONS is held for Confirm, Cancel or “Something else…” in the thread, and the pending write expires after five minutes.
Can someone approve their own request?
Not in attest_tag. A write that grants access leaves the thread and goes to an approver as a DM with Approve and Deny; nobody approves their own request, enforced three times over, once in SQL. Approvers hold a tier naming the bundle they may grant from. OpenAI’s pages say workspace agents “Always ask” before a write by default, and do not say who may approve or whether the person running the agent may.

More comparisons

The same ten questions, asked of the others.

All comparisons

Try both

Run both in the same channel for a week.

We mean it. attest_tag answers in threads, so it will not collide with whatever else is in the channel, and a week of your own questions settles this faster than any table.

Half an hour to set up, one channel to start, and the free plan needs no card. See what it costs.